Rugby Vibes

The first love of my life was a Namilyango Boy. You know that Gungas-Ngo stuff or SMACK-Gungas stuff, so I was a verdict. During the Nationals games, other than sports, “mingling” was the next big thing. With little or no knowledge about the sport, we would gather and head to cheer on the Ngonians or Smackists as they battled out. Let it be basketball, the hockey girls would be at the sideline, as if they understood the game just like they comprehended the backside of their hockey stick. It was just the second motivation to go for the National Games other than the certificate. My “baby boo” happened to be the rugby captain, and soon I gained so much fame for dating the most dangerous “ruga” player in the G8 schools. That was my first interaction with rugby. I would spend my extra time at the games, watching him play. I grew to believe that rugby was all about beating the other person that comes your way.

In action, Makerere University (green) against the University of Johannesburg.

I recall discussing rugby with my father, who referred to it as an ugly sport. Little did I know that years down the road, I would be the ugly athlete in the shoes of my lover boy!

This year Makerere University hosted the 2nd Kings of Africa games. I presume the University considered it essential to have the women’s team as well. But well, we all have gotten accustomed to last-minute preparations, so after a convincing tongue camped in my inbox, I was soon in the corridors of Mary Stuart to reside and get ready for the games in three weeks. I repeat, three weeks!

Just like any other sport, you begin with the basics. Looking at the ball, touching the ball, learning the different dimensions of the field, making the weirdest passes, and playing around with what you thought the game was really about.

Week one, all we could do was hold and throw the ball to the person next to us (as long as it reaches the person). The most challenging part was learning that rugby is played in any weather. As if to confirm this assertion, we were blessed with rainy mornings where you would expect the Coach to look at you and say,

“Hey Liz, let’s go get some roof above us.”

Instead, the rains provided more time to work out till they ceased. It all seemed crazy.

Week two, at least we knew how to pass in a line formation, and soon we would pass the ball and run to gain mileage. It all seemed not to be the kind of rugby we had come thinking about. The rugby where you BEAT, and the weak scatter for their lives.

Week three, we could finally pass, rack, scrum down, and form a line out. The numbers had increased from day one, and the sport was slowly winning portions of our hearts that had been predominantly occupied by our former sports.

Three days before the games, the coach initiated contact in the game. It was scary at first as anytime you knew, even your closest friend would be carrying you to the ground. With time, it brought joy to us, revenging on each other with the tough tackles and most of all grabbing your shirt and ensuring that it’s torn to shreds by the end of the day. We were not familiar with a contact yet. Still, we knew that anything that comes from the opposite direction to which your running deserves to be thrust to the ground as long as you didn’t touch its* hair or neck or eyebrows.

Game Day Live. I am not sure how I managed to score a try against those well-trained and built South African ladies, but they couldn’t let my tiny legs carry me past their try again! Team spirit it is; even if the Uganda National Team is lined up against the USA team, some unshaken spirits will take the risk to bet a win for Uganda. Makerere University versus the University of Johannesburg or Makerere University versus the University of Pretoria; which game should I build on. Actually, let’s go generic; we lost all the games, but we played our hearts out and had fun carrying and tackling. We barely passed by the opponent’s try line.

For the injuries, that’s part of the game. I bet that is what makes the game such a thrill. After my first day of the games, I needed a whole-body massage and a cold or warm touch. My body felt like it was an entity of its own away from the soul. The soul was excited about the next day’s games, but the body demanded a rest. Soon, this becomes a normal feeling that you most likely will get addicted to.

Long story short, out of the three girls teams that participated, we managed to come in 3rd and received our medals at the podium. After all, we were victors; hold your peace if you disagree.

Makerere University Women’s Rugby team receiving its medals and trophy.

Who knew that some of the girls who had joined the team a week before the games would be called to represent the country at the National Team level? Rugby was such a thrill, and it remains one. When I head for rugby, I know I will come back tired and ready to sleep like a baby with added physical fitness.

Rugby is a beautiful sport.

Published by womeninsportshersport3799

A youthful enthusiastic woman athlete who works hard to improve everyday. I believe in hard work beating talent. I am also am writer for sports.

4 thoughts on “Rugby Vibes

  1. I really enjoyed this peace..I like that everytime I read any of your pieces, I already know subconsciously that I’m yet to fall in love with another sport. This isnt an exception!!!!!

    Like

  2. I witnessed that. What courage and zeal it was.
    Proud of you Liz and team.
    Don’t let anyone put you down because those splints girl eeh eeh.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started